Gugu is 22. She was born in Zimbabwe and moved with her family to South Africa at the age of 7. She is in her final year of a BCom Economics and Finance degree at UCT. I decided to make her the subject of my interview when I bumped into her at the UCT cafeteria. It was important for me to find a confident student who is not afraid to voice her opinions towards a sensitive subject that recently became the South African polemic.

Q. As a Zimbabwean who lived most of her life in South Africa, would you consider yourself as partly South African ?

A. I would say that my roots and the basis of who I am is essentially embedded in the Zimbabwean culture. However, I can consider South Africa as my adopted nation. I grew up here – my understanding of the world and my evolution as an adult emanate from South Africa.

Q. When I mention “ZumaMustFall,” “Black Monday” and “Anti-Zuma March,” do you feel concerned as a part of the South African population ?

A. Yes! I definitely feel concern. I live in South Africa and I cannot be alienated myself from the socio-political movements because of my origins. I reside in South Africa, and the problems arising here are somewhat affecting me as well.

I feel related to it insofar that I am aware of the problems and I contemplate what has been happening in the past two weeks in South Africa. However, that does not mean that I fully agree with Anti-Zuma March.

Q. From your personal perspective and reflection, what does that march mean to you ?

A. I can understand the motivation of the people protesting against Zuma. I mean, it never has been good to have a president that people cannot trust governing a country. I actually agree with the notion that Zuma “Must Fall.” The source of the problem are the circumstances of who and what created this protest. White South Africans only decided to wake up only once their profits and privilege were going to be affected by the new economic plan adopted by Zuma. This protest is basically related to the protection of white people’s wealth and capital. I am not the only one to wonder where  white people were during “FeesMustFall” or the Marikana incident.

Q. Do you think the march could have an impact on the government if it continues like this ?

A. Protest can work…protest actually can work (I am French, I can tell you it really does sometimes)! But it depends on the gravity of the situation and the inconvenience you’re causing for everyone as well. For that one protest… I do not think it was enough to create that much change.

Q. How could people spark change in your opinion?

A. I think that the people is not enough to voice their opinions to the actual machine that is the government. I think because of the collusionary bubble around Zuma, only non-ordinary citizen can actually have an effect on the power in place. Even if I think that the mass has power, ‘’Power to the people’’.  Only if a important collision occur to create unity between the people while in South Africa it is quite divided.

Q. What would be your personal idea as a solution to the economical and political issues in South Africa at the moment ?

A. People need to be aware of their position, who they are and what space they take up in the current society we are living in within the socio-political context in South Africa. So, if you are black or white etc… understand the position you are in and consider others’ situations and the ideologies they stand for. White people in particular need to understand why there is lots of anger and hatred coming from people of color, where it is coming from and how recent Apartheid was. Equally important is the need to consider if they really care about the country or themselves. I feel this protest depicts perfectly that the principal concern of white people is their personal privilege that is put in danger right now more than anything else.

Leave a comment